On January 11th, Sport BC, on behalf of the BC Sport community, proudly announced the outstanding amateur athletes, coaches, and officials, named as finalists for 14 of the 18 award categories to be presented at the Annual Athlete of the Year Awards.

Triathlon BC is justifiably proud of our member nominees; high performance athlete, Des Ridenour of Victoria, nominated as Junior Female Athlete of the Year, and Triathlon BC’s own Technical Director, Andrew Armstrong of White Rock, finalist for the Official of the Year.

The Sport BC Athlete of the Year Awards are the longest standing sport recognition event in Canada, and this year, signifies a historic achievement for sport, celebrating its 53rd anniversary.  The Awards evening recognizes BC’s best in amateur sport, including athletes, coaches, and officials for outstanding performances and contributions to sport over the 2018 season.

The Selection Committee, chaired by legendary sport announcer, Bernie Pascall, included 15 highly regarded sportswriters, broadcasters, and amateur sport leaders in British Columbia.

“Each year the Athlete of the Year Awards selection committee reviews all nominations and  recognizes the talented and deserving athletes, coaches and officials ”, notes President & CEO of Sport BC, Rob Newman. “The nominees for the 2019 Sport BC Athlete of the Year Awards  represent  25 sports and 16  cities who are all representative of the strength and depth of sport development in our province.”

“It’s no secret, BC boasts many of the top athletes in Canada, we reviewed an impressive list of candidates for  awards consideration.” says selection committee chairman Bernie Pascall. “The excellent group of finalists reflects the remarkable degree of sports development in BC.”

An additional six awards will be presented at the ceremony including the Best of BC, KidSport BC Community  Champion, Harry Jerome Comeback, Daryl Thompson Lifet ime Achievement Award and In Her Footsteps  Honourees.

To see the full list of Nominees and Sport BC’s Official Press Release, please click HERE.